What are some of the key data breach reporting requirements? Why do you need to know these requirements? To help you understand, keep on reading this article.
Data Breach Reporting
When a data breach happens, companies need to ensure that everyone involved gets notified of the incident. This includes the company’s compliance team, the IT department, the legal department, and the board of directors.
Each state has a law that states a company’s responsibility for reporting a data breach. The laws may vary from state to state, but they all have one thing in common: companies need to notify their users about a possible data breach that could affect them.
For instance, the state of California passed a law in 2014 that states companies need to report any data breach that can affect their users. This law is known as SB1386. And it requires all companies to provide information about the data breach within 45 days from when it happened or from when it was discovered.
Data Breach Reporting Requirements
What, then, are some data breach reporting requirements? First off, companies need to tell their users about the incident. This means that information about what happened and how it happened needs to be provided. Together with contact information that users can use if they have any questions or concerns.
If a company wants to notify users of a data breach, then it must provide this information in a manner that is accessible and easy to understand. The law states that this information needs to be posted on the company’s website and sent out via e-mail.
The law also states that companies need to notify law enforcement officials and the state’s attorney general. Some other laws that you need to know about include Vermont’s Personal Information Protection Act (VPIPA). This was passed in 2003 and amended in 2013.
It states that companies need to notify their users within 72 hours from when a data breach happened or from when it was discovered. Even if the company believes the data breach doesn’t pose a risk to its users.
The federal government has also passed some laws regarding data breach reporting requirements. The HITECH Act requires organizations that suffer a breach that affects more than 5,000 people to report it within 60 days of discovering the incident.
In Texas, companies need to report any data breach that affects more than 5,000 Texas residents. All within 30 days of discovering it.
Further, in Maine, it must be reported within 72 hours from when it was discovered or from when it happened, whichever is sooner. In Florida, it must be reported within 72 hours from when it was discovered or from when it happened, whichever is sooner.
As you can see, there are many laws and regulations regarding data breach reporting requirements. When a data breach happens, it’s important to know what the requirements are. You want to ensure that you notify your users about the incident and you want to comply with the law.